timing my spacial awareness

Isn’t going upside down cool? I love it. How much time do we have? 0.5secs? 0.25secs? I dunno. But that gap in time between take off and landing is silent right?

One second there’s noise, then the next there’s nothing until the landing happens. What can you hear? I hear nothing except my held breath.. perhaps a heart beat or 2.

Actually, now I’m thinking about it, I can hear the voice in my head. It’s the one I’ve trained to count my through the process of extension, compaction & extension again.

When I started flipping, I had to figure out the timing of rotations, I was over rotating too much or I was opening out too quickly. I had to figure out a way of timing it. I count. What’s your approach?

I click my teeth together… biting if you like… just a little click: 1, 2, 2 and a half, land… something like that. Clicking teeth helps me duplicate success. A good example is front flips. Backflips are easy, you throw up and spot the landing and the rest is history. With front flips… it’s a totally different beast. The landing can’t be spotted until it’s too late.

I’ll spot a point on a wall opposite, normally above head height at a 10 or 11 o’clock angle. I’ll punt up the chuck, spin it round until the spot is visible then open out. It’s all over so quickly there isn’t much else to think about. However take that jump to a trampoline and I’ve got so much airtime I don’t know what to do with it. This is where my teeth clicking comes in handy.

As soon as I take off, I’ll start click counting and between then and spotting the wall, I’ll measure the clicks. Once I’ve found the sweet spot, generally I can recreate it. As long as I replicate everything else obviously: the power, the flick, the angle, the speed.

When you throw everything into the mix the margin for error is high. Repitition hey? Where would we be with out it?

How about you? How do you time your spacial awareness when upside down? If there any tricks or tips you can share? I’d love to hear them in the comments :)

Mark

Leave a comment

Filed under marks progress

Leave a Reply

