We take risks, sometimes we can’t help it…

People love to take risks don’t they? what is it? the adrenaline? the attention? discovering new limits? what? a combination of all of it? Oh and probably a disfunctional childhood? … hmm, I have a story about that…

I have a brother adam, and when he was a baby, me and my older bro, used to throw him around. If he was lying on the floor and we dragged him by his legs and threw him up in the air on to the sofa or bed, he’d laugh, he thought it was fun. Of course he couldn’t speak, because he wasn’t old enough.

Me and my bro, continued throwing my little brother around, for many years to come. Sometimes he cried when we didn’t throw or ‘land’ him correctly, but on the whole he loved the ‘rush’ and the feeling of being airbourne and weightless. He grew up to be a confident kid. He was always getting into scrapes and dangerous situations, and often suffering for taking that risk.

On one occasion, he hugged my next door neighbours dangerous dog, that didn’t want to be hugged and it snapped and bit at my bro’s face and started flipping adam about with him in his jaws, I freaked out a little as I couldn’t get him to stop initially, until I put my finger up the dogs ass, as this was the only way I knew of to get a dog to release its grip. It worked. My little bro had his face stitched up and life went on. Tho he still loved the dog and wanted to hug it whenever he saw it. We decided my little bro was stupid and continued to throw him around whenever we could. We didn’t believe we were doing anything wrong, he loved it… the reaction he gave, spoke volumes.

He sought more and more things out that were dangerous. And with myself and my older bro challenging and encouraging him, there was no chance he’d run out of options. We stuck him on motorbikes, quadbikes, skateboards, roller skates, and steep hills. At aged 4, he’d learnt to ride bikes without stabilisers and could be found bombing across the nearby park in top gear on my bro’s mountain bike. 

By the age of 9 he’d had approximately 20 xrays, puncture wounds and scars to his face, broken fingers, broken arm and many more hospital trips for incidents that I fail to recollect.

A few years ago, when he was hitting 20, I discovered he’d been in a fight. And learnt how this guy who’d hit him, was ‘freaking out’ and ‘raging’ and drunk and everyone was pretty scared of this guy. My bro, however wasn’t scared of him, he was all in the guys face and trying to calm the guy down… it didn’t work and my bro got whacked a few times. I said ‘didn’t you sense there was trouble, and something bad was about to kick off?’… he didn’t. He thought that he was going to help the situation by getting closer to it.

He is now 23. And I’ve finally realised something. I think me and my older bro’s actions to adam when he was so young, may have contributed, either entirely or partially, to removing the instinct of fear from him. During all his childhood years, whatever was put before him that scared other kids, wouldn’t scare adam. Everything was possible, achievable and within his reach. The fear that would stop us, wasn’t there to stop him.

He’s now engaged to a nice girl, has a job that takes him all over the uk, but still visits hospitals at least a few times a year for various reasons, normally related to ignoring the warning signs (or not seeing them at all) for dangerous things.

At 1:32 secs before this video ends, you will see something that is dangerous and shouldn’t have been attempted. However it happens and I don’t think he dies, so its ok… tho its not actually made clear what happens to the guy as the video is cut short.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flips, injuries, Life, Pain, Tricking, video, youtube

Leave a Reply

