the slower route to success

Not that anybody really cares, but here’s a general update.

I’ve been hitting up the trampoline recently, hence the tramp footage going on. Doing this has helped me a lot. I’ve consistent on my rotations, I know where I am in the air a lot more, and its a really good way of warming up and strengthening my legs. I can backflip and frontflip in control as high as I can bounce. I’ve also nailed front fulls pretty good too.. I wish I could get some proper coaching at it, but that’s not an option for me right now. Anyways, I figured out (for front fulls) that I’d been starting the rotation too early, leave it until I’m fully upside down and the spin is quicker straighter and faster. I’m still not sure what I’ve got to do with my arms, and have a idea that there’s a technique with the legs I could utilise, to make the spin even faster. Either way, I’ll figure it all out eventually. But I’m feeling good about it.

On the floor I’ve got sideflips dialled. I’m punching/blocking into the floor much better, gaining more height landing comfortably.

For those that read this and wander off bored because I’m not spinning and kicking in the traditional ‘tricking’ sense, well too bad. People need to realise that I’m not into chucking myself on to hard surfaces before I’m ready… I’ve a decent job to hold down and mortgage to pay for… I can’t afford any injury. Besides I think its better to take the longer slower route to success than to try and achieve things in order to keep up with people and popular trends. I’m in this for the long haul, I just know that I’d be progressing faster, if I had someone telling me how to improve and could access the facility more often.

Tonight i’m back up the gym again, I was there last night and I can’t wait to go again. I’m definitely addicted to this!

I’m working on backtuck punch fronts.

Which reminds me. I’m getting annoyed with myself for not knowing the correct names for things I’m doing. I don’t want to know the ‘cool’ names.. I want to know the right names. I’ll need to search for a decent site to educate me.

laters – mark

Leave a comment

Filed under Flips, Gymnastics, technique, training, trampoline, Tricking

Leave a Reply

